IU Shapla Forum gets new committee

Humayun Kabir Jibon, IU

Professor M Mamunur Rahman of English department and Professor M Mahbubar Rahman of Electrical and Electronic Engineering department have been elected as the president and general secretary respectively of Shapla Forum, an Awami League-Progressive backed teacher alliance, of Islamic University in Kushtia.

IU Shapla Forum chief election commissioner Professor Debashish Sharma announced the committee on Monday a day after the election was held on the campus in Kushtia.

Other office bearers of the committee are Professor Shelina Nasrin of Accounting and Information Systems department as vice-president, Professor Ibrahim Abdullah of Computer Science and Engineering department as treasurer and Professor M Anisur Rahman of Mathematics department as joint-secretary.

Professor Tapan Kumar Godder, Professor M Jahangir Hossain, Professor Miah M Rashiduzzaman, Professor M Mahbubul Arfin, Professor Rabiul Hossain, Professor Sadek Ali, Professor M Atiqur Rahman, Hossain M Farooque, Shahed Ali and Joyshree Shen are the members of the committee.

The newly elected body of the forum would hold their post for the next one year, IU Shapla Forum chief election commissioner Professor Debashish Sharma said.

The posts are made among the 15 elected teachers without taking into account the majority. My main goal is to keep the organization united with everyone’s cooperation and advance the ideological activities, the newly elected general secretary said. Meanwhile, the newly elected secretary Mahbubar Rahman, served himself as the provost of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Hall, Student Advisor, Syndicate member and proctor for two terms. He took steps to stop drugs, ragging, corruption and militancy as well as elimination of outsiders during his proctorship.

Related Articles

Back to top button